Croxton School’s Curriculum is organised into three main areas:

1. Early Years – Laying the Foundations (Students aged 5 – 10)

In these years, the curriculum focuses on developing the fundamental knowledge, skills and behaviours in literacy and numeracy and other areas including physical and social capacities which underpin all future learning.
Integrated curriculum activities that have a emphasis on the acquisition of literacy and numeracy skills form a major part of the curriculum.


2. Middle Years – Building Breadth and Depth (Students aged 11 – 16)

In these years, students’ progress beyond the foundations and their literacy and numeracy becomes more developed. An expanded curriculum program provides the basis for in-depth learning within all domains in the three learning strands.
Students will develop a range of independence skills that develop in them the capacity to manage their own lives, relate competently to others and to interact effectively with the world around them.
Each of the domains in the Discipline-based Learning strand, The Arts, Literacy, Humanities, Numeracy and Science are addressed with emphasis being placed on physical, personal and social learning.

3. Victorian Certificate of Applied Learning

Foundation Level – Developing Pathways (Students aged 16 – 18)
In these years, students develop greater independence of mind and interests. They seek deeper connections between their learning and the world around them and explore how learning might be applied in that world.
They need to experience learning in work and community settings as well as the classroom. They are beginning to develop preferred areas for their learning.

The curriculum focuses on developing pathways to post school options. The Victorian Certificate of Applied Learning (VCAL) is a two year program that consists of four strands:

  • Literacy and Numeracy Strands
  • Industry Specific Strand
  • Work Related Skills
  • Personal Development